Applications for the 2020-2021 cohort will be available fall 2019. The call for applications for the 2019-2020 cohort is available here.

The Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) are pleased to present the inaugural class of DAAD Post-Doctoral Scholars who will join the school for the 2018-2019 academic year to conduct research on the theme “The United States, Europe, and World Order.”

Post-Doctoral Fellows 2019-2020

  • Cornelia-Adriana Baciu – PhD, Dublin City University, Ireland

  • Tizoc Chavez – PhD in History, Vanderbilt University, USA

  • Iulia-Sabina Joja – PhD in Strategic Studies, National School of Political Science and Public Administration Bucharest, Romania

  • David Kleimann – PhD in Comparative, European, and International Laws, European University Institute

  • Maria Snegovaya – PhD in Political Science, Columbia University, USA

  • Frank Stengel – PhD in Political Science, University of Bremen, Germany

The project on “The United States, Europe, and World Order” is led by Daniel Hamilton, Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation Professor at the SAIS Foreign Policy Institute, and Kristina Spohr, the inaugural Helmut Schmidt Distinguished Professor in the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at SAIS.

This new professorship and the post-doctoral program are part of a multi-year program to enhance research on transatlantic relations at Johns Hopkins SAIS funded by the DAAD with generous support by the German Federal Foreign Office.

To learn more about The United States, Europe, and World Order project, please visit the Foreign Policy Institute website.

Post-Doctoral Fellows 2018-2019

  • John-Michael Arnold – PhD in Public Affairs (Security Studies), Princeton, USA

  • Elias Götz – PhD in Political Science, Aarhus University, Denmark

  • Liviu Horovitz – PhD, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

  • Stephan Kieninger – PhD in Modern History, University of Mannheim, Germany

  • Wencke Meteling – PhD, University of Tübingen, Germany